Yes, it is all about me

In case you wonder what I’ve been up to at my new job …

The Dangers Of Being Too Social
by Lisa LaMotta @ Forbes.com

… These sites can also be a huge waste of time. According to comScore, people spend an average of 186 minutes on Facebook per session. (To be fair, a lot of those visitors are letting the program run in the background while they perform other tasks–but three hours is still a long time.) Some companies are flat out banning use of these sites at work. And earlier this year, Sen. Matt Murphy, R-Ill., introduced a bill to prohibit public libraries and schools from allowing access to social networking sites on any computers available to the public and students. …

Derek Sorensen, 47, is happy to tell (or alarm) you. Prompted by a friend who lamented how much time she wasted on social networks, Sorensen, owner of a Web site repair company 50 miles outside of London, came up with Notworking, an application you can download to your desktop that will tally all of those wasted hours and dollars.

“I think it’s a fun little tool,” says Constantine von Hoffman, social media manager for Spoke Software, a business social networking site, and clearly a fan of irony. “It is a brilliant piece of commentary on how the huge number of network sites are becoming a problem.”

PS: That’s not a good thumbnail description of Spoke, but that’s my fault not the reporter’s.

The URL for Notworking is http://dereksorensen.com/?p=28 and it's great.

One thought on “Yes, it is all about me

  1. Thanks for the kind words. I wrote it after my friend asked me if I knew of such an application but I couldn’t find one anywhere. I was amazed nobody had done it before.

Leave a Reply

