Can you find my article on camouflage?


It’s cleverly disguised as art criticism over at DarkRoastedBlend.

Here’s the lead:

War has inspired many great artistic moments but how often have artists returned the favor? Once, as far as I can tell. During World War I Modernism descended on Allied naval planners with a bang (sorry about that), turning fleets into the largest painting canvases in the world.

Mauritania

The HMS Mauritania — prepared to disappear into a crowd of Pagliacci imitators.
The idea of painting ships this way was the idea of Norman Wilkinson, a British naval officer and painter. Oddly, this was Wilkinson’s only stab at non-representational art. After the war he went on to a successful painting career, including many wonderful posters for British railway lines. Wilkinson
For all of my UK readers (maybe that’s reader singular, maybe that’s wishful thinking), there’s what looks to be a great show about camouflage at the Imperial War Museum through Sunday. Wish I could go.
add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to ma.gnoliaadd to simpyseed the vineTailRank

2 thoughts on “Can you find my article on camouflage?

  1. I don’t have to put up with comments like that. We expect insults and putdowns around here. So I won’t say that I liked your blog, BadBanana, until I figure out an insulting way to do it.

Leave a comment