The weirdest ad for lab equipment you will EVER see

How do you market a machine that automates using a pipette (an instrument used to transport a measured volume of liquid)? Romance, of course. Eppendorf is pushing its new epMotion machine with a video of a boy-band group of lab types singing a boy-band type of love song about how you deserve to have your pipetting done by a machine.

Here’s the lyrics… but I really suggest watching the video. I know what I’m getting Mrs. CollateralDamage for her birthday!!!

Pipetting all those well-plates, baby, sends your thumbs into overdrive
And spending long nights in the lab makes it hard for your love to thrive
What you need is automation, girl, something easy as 1 2 3
So put down that pipette, honey, I got something that will set you free

And it’s called epMotion (whisper: ‘cause you deserve something really great)
Girl you need epMotion (whisper: yeah girl it’s time to automate)
It’s got to be epMotion (whisper: no more pipetting late at night)
Only for you epMotion (whisper: girl this time we got it right)

‘DNA
RNA
Proteins
Cell Cultures
Less reagents
Faster workflow
Saves you money
Well, well, well

And it’s called epMotion (whisper: ‘cause you deserve something really great)
Girl you need epMotion (whisper: yeah girl it’s time to automate)
It’s got to be epMotion (whisper: no more pipetting late at night)
Only for you epMotion (whisper: girl this time we got it right)

Big shout out to Heather S. for this. Hope Mike sings this one to you. Or at least lip-synchs it.

5 thoughts on “The weirdest ad for lab equipment you will EVER see

  1. This is a hoot! Reminds my of my co-op days fixing an automated blood chemistry machine which did, among other things, automated pipetting. This was back in 1975 and many brain cells ago. We stored the chemicals in the largest refrigerator in the hospital, which was in the morgue. There weren’t just chemicals in that refrigerator.

  2. Thank you! I was just excited that I came across this before you did… Or managed to convince myself that I did. And, Steve, it also reminds me of my youth. I worked in the biochem lab at a rehab hospital when I was in high school. Pipetting was one of the things with which I was entrusted. I’m still not sure if that was a wise decision!

  3. Boy bands and pipettes – definitely two things I don’t normally associate together. Kudos to the company for thinking of a humorous way of getting their product out there.

    Also, I thought I would send you a link to a new, humorous marketing campaign featuring Gary Busey:

    or
    http://GaryBuseyOnBusiness.com

    Definitely 2 things you wouldn’t associate together: Gary Busey and business.

Leave a Reply

