US candy chain sells commemorative Barack Obama chocolates

obamachocolate

(Pic via ace marketer/stand-up comedian Nathan Hartswick. Follow him on Twitter!)

CandyExpress claims these commemorative Barack Obama heads are available for a limited time only. Not limited enough, unfortunately.  Off the top of my head I would thought of three things Mr. Obama should not be used to advertise: Chocolate, fried chicken (as a German company did), watermelon (that’s a yet).  The Russians are clearly out-thinking me on this: I didn’t even consider someone would use President O for a tanning salon. They did.

OBAMA ICE CREAM

The president is apparently quiet the commercial draw in Mother Russia. In addition to the tanning salon and he has also been featured in an ad forthe MeraDent chain of dental clinics with the slogan "Full Dental Democracy!"And of course for this wonderful ice cream treat.

In case you don’t read Russian the slogan says: "Everyone’s talking about it: dark inside white!" The bars have a chocolate-flavored center embedded in a layer of vanilla.

As Russia used home grown slaves instead of importing them as the US did people of African heritage are quite rare. Worth noting: Alexander Pushkin – the nation’s first great poet – was one of those few African-Russians.

3 thoughts on “US candy chain sells commemorative Barack Obama chocolates

  1. Thanks for posting this…glad I could help you bring dimension to this ridiculous story.

    By the by, I also intend to use it in my standup act. If I talk about the Russian angle, I’ll credit you back. 😉

    Cheers,
    N

  2. Pingback: 10 Worst Marketing Blunders of 2009 « Collateral Damage

Leave a comment